News of the day – 31 for 21

Practically every other day, some enlightening insight, funny anecdote or ironic episode pops into my head, and that’s where I “write” a blog post about it: in my head.

That means you, faithful reader, don’t get to appreciate the wit, wisdom – or more likely, whatever – I have to share with a regularly updated blog. My last post was nearly a year ago.

Raphael standing

I think about what I would like to write and how much I miss playing with words. I think about great story ideas. I think about how my journaling could somehow eventually bring about my life’s mission: to improve the lives of people with disabilities, to promote their civil rights, and to change the way society views people who are different.

But, hey, I’m a mom. I was going to say busy mom, but I suppose that would be redundant.

In fact, I’m a special needs mom. (I seriously dislike that term, by the way.)

So give me a break and please keep reading because here goes blog Number 1 of this year’s 31-for-21 challenge.

October is National Down Syndrome Awareness month.

31 for 21 button

It’s also Breast Cancer Awareness month and a bunch of other awareness-y issues month, but Down syndrome is a platform I can tell you something about that you may not have known before.

So today, October 2, begins my attempt to bring you (almost) 31 days of inspiration and information related to Trisomy 21 (a.k.a. Down syndrome).

Get it, 31-for-21? That’s 31 days of blogging about people who carry an extra chromosome number 21 in their cells – a day late and a posting short to begin.

Much bigger news is that it’s also day 2 of a federal government shutdown since Congress couldn’t agree on a budget, mostly because a Republican faction opposes the Affordable Care Act, both endearingly and derisively known as Obamacare. What you may not realize is how shuttering federal offices, closing national parks, and furloughing hundreds of thousands of workers will affect people with disabilities.

According to Disability Scoop, people with disabilities who rely on Social Security and Medicaid payments will, for the moment, continue to count on funds, but they should expect delays for certain services. After three weeks, payments to disabled veterans may halt, and Social Security disability applicants will have to wait. The National Institutes of Health is already turning away patients, and the Centers for Disease Control’s ability to track flu outbreaks and other potential illnesses is limited.

It seems everyone could ultimately feel effects of the shutdown, but people who face extra challenges – disabled folks, poor people, and people who rely on government support – are possibly most at risk.

I think they and their issues are worth trying to understand.

Let’s hope our nation’s leaders think about them, too.


In honor of Down syndrome awareness month, I am trying to post to this blog every day for 31 days to increase awareness of Trisomy 21, the most common genetic condition that causes the syndrome.

About elizamom

Colorado mother of two small boys. One happens to have Down syndrome.
This entry was posted in Confession, Down syndrome, Parenting Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to News of the day – 31 for 21

  1. Glad to have you joining in on the blog challenge! Love your header picture!

  2. Mardra says:

    I know, it’s crazy! I think in DC they should be sequestered, like Jurrors, til they get this figured out.
    Oy!

  3. Patty says:

    That is how I blog too–in my head. ❤

Leave a Reply

