31 for 21: Capturing children’s growth

When Raphael said “ball” for the first time a few days ago, I ran for the camera to capture the moment.

The video below is only nine seconds long, and you need to pay attention to Raphael because Elijah is making noise off-camera trying to get some attention of his own.

Click the play button and enjoy!

What’s heartwarming is that as we’ve been celebrating Raphael making developmental gains in several areas, Elijah has been pretending to be a baby lately. He babbles and grunts, wants to sit in Raphael’s chair, and pretends to go for mommy’s milk.

I don’t mind. I get where he’s coming from.

Besides, I’ll snuggle with him all I can because I know my big boy will likely grow out of wanting me to baby him.

It’s a thrill to watch our children grow, but sometimes I just want them to stay small, too.


In honor of Down syndrome awareness month, I am trying to post to this blog every day for 31 days (or at least 31 times in October) to increase awareness of Trisomy 21, the genetic condition that causes the syndrome.

About elizamom

Colorado mother of two small boys. One happens to have Down syndrome.
This entry was posted in Family time, Parenting Special Needs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 31 for 21: Capturing children’s growth

  1. Julie Rodgers says:

    i really enjoy your blog, i think you are amazing!

  2. Kristina says:

    he does such a good job enunciating! yay Raphael!

Leave a Reply

