31 for 21: No time for playtime?

I used to get jealous of SAHMs (stay-at-home moms) who seemed to have endless playdates and time with their kids.

Me, my big boy, and his friends having fun on a hammock

Me, Elijah, and friends on a playdate

I know that’s just one of those grass-is-always-greener moments. I’m part SAHM-part working mom, and I think that may be the toughest job of all because it’s so hard to do any one thing as well as I’d like and because people around me expect full-time productivity from both roles.

Still, I feel my oldest has missed out since his brother came before Elijah was even two years old, and we’ve been going like mad practically ever since. Especially the first year… or two.

I am determined to make quality time a reality. A few times a week, I let Raphael stay with his beloved sitter, and I devote the hour or so between the time I pick up Elijah from preschool and the time I have to clean up and make dinner to “special mommy time” for my big boy.

Sure, some days that looks a little too much like taking Elijah grocery shopping. Other days, we hang out at home: Eli climbs the apple tree in our front yard or rides his scooter, or we cuddle up with books.

I am doing everything I can to help him make friendships and have set up at least one play date with friends after school every week. It isn’t easy at that late hour with everyone tired and hungry and needing to get dinner on the table. It’s not even easy to find the time to make the playdate arrangements in the first place.

But it’s been fun.

About elizamom

Colorado mother of two small boys. One happens to have Down syndrome.
This entry was posted in Family time, Motherhood, Preschool, Time Crunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

